I quit twice, never again. Pt 1.

I quit twice, never again. Pt 1.

...documenting my journey into becoming a Software Engineering Trainee at Alx Africa.

The idea of venturing into the world of technology began to brew in my head last September. Observing my mandatory youth service at a local radio station, it was time for me to decide what path to take. A decision was crucial to me - after writing and recording music for three years on the mainland and Island of Lagos, I was exhausted. It didn't appeal to me to go back there. It's hard for me to say that music is my happy place. My mind needed to be at peace.

In conversation with my colleague & friend at work, we talked about the endless possibilities of life. Our discussion has been about the infinite opportunities we have as human beings, and how we are responsible for recognizing that our greatness is right in front of us and all we had to do was grab the bull by the horns. He was and is still enthusiastic about self-driving cars. He would talk and upload stories about Tesla, Robots, the automotive-AI tech ecosystem and more. To this day he wants to be a part of that. I saw it in his eyes and I knew he had it in him to become something great.

We decided shortly after that we would be audacious and make our entry into technology. The subject of Machine Learning fascinated him, so he began inquiring about it. When he returned to work one Monday morning, he told me, "Timi, I'm going to learn Python" - what? What's that? A snake?

I had a great feeling when he explained what Python means. After he showed me the power of being a developer, I realized that if I am going to be great in tech - it will be through computer programming.

"But hold on, those green scribbles hackers punch on computers? That? Sounds Interesting!"

I decided to pursue web development. This decision was heavily influenced by my personal interests in art, graphic design and interfaces. Yes, I would learn how to build websites.

It seems to be a good place for beginners to start.

I came across FreeCodeCamp and CodeCademy. I learned the basics of HTML & CSS for a month. Learned about semantic and non-semantic elements, tags, flexbox, grids and those things you had to know. Quite a substandard website was made by me. Now what next? Here comes confusion.

My journey has been without any guidance nor a roadmap. Youtubers' opinions varied greatly and I found it difficult to understand them. Eventually I decided to try my hands on Javascript for another month but there were times where I would find myself confused as to how the code actually worked. The syntax is not very intuitive, so trying to learn it was a challenge.

Javascript is a unique type of programming language. It has more flexibility and abstraction than HTML or CSS because it allows for code to be written in a functional way. At the time, I had to console.log my code to get a result at least. It was strange and exhausting.

So for the first time, I quit.

To be continued…It gets better.